20. Not perfect is more than enough

Father and daughter.
3 min readDec 15, 2020

--

The only perfection that matters is the one that makes you feel good. Most of the times, if not all of the times, feeling good has absolutely nothing to do with achieving or getting close to perfection but mostly about doing things that make sense to you. Laughing, building something, attempting to build something, repeating something that you like, stop doing something that you do not like, learning something, understanding something you did not understand the time before, making new friends, finding out something new about yourself, realizing your own prejudices and being able to tame them. And so on.

You see, nothing related really to being perfect.

My purpose in life, which I only understood when I was 35 years old, is to connect with myself, that means to connect my body and my brain. And through this connection, connect with the natural world (all the magnificent landscapes on Earth) and with other animals, human beings included.

This purpose serves everybody, whether they are aware of it or not. When you meet someone who is extending their inner connection and thus their external connection, this someone will most probably be a calm, healthy, kind person. Still a human being, hence with their flaws, issues, problems, uncertainties, contradictions.

Such contradictions are inherent to human beings, so do not dedicate too much time, or no time at all, to try to dissolve it. It is ok to acknowledge them, they are part of our existence, and they make sense in a way that we might no be even able to understand. But that does not mean that they make no sense at all. So respect those contradictions, do not feel bad about them, observe them and see if they reveal something about yourself.

My previous post was very negative. I was in utter pain, writing from a deep wound. This one is written merely 36 hours later, and it is more optimistic. I am the same person writing both of them. Sounds contradictory, it is not. Life is dynamic, we are as well. No fixed notion of ourselves will stand long. We learn to understand this, and the sooner we learn it the better. The sooner we learn it the longer the time we have to fully, consciously enjoy our time on Earth.

Dear daughter, I am not sure when will you read this, at what age, under what circumstances. Will I still be there? I do not know. Life is uncertain. But I do know that through the years, human beings learn most of the truths that are really useful to get to feel happier and enjoy life the most.

I hope that when you read this, you will get some positive influence from my words. This is the main intention of me sharing all these thoughts with you. I want to share my wisdom with you, because it is the most treasured thing that I own. I hope you can make a positive use of it. And if you already know most of this wisdom, that means that you probably learn the important truths about life way sooner than I did. Well done lovely one!

--

--

Father and daughter.

Stay-at-home ex-pat father, following his wife work-post after work-post, struggling with parenting far from friends and family. And the son of divorced parents